On August 19, 1976, Martin, St. Lucie, Indian River, and Palm Beach counties signed an interlocal agreement establishing the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council. In 2006, the interlocal agreement creating the original regional partnership was amended, restated, and reconfirmed through the signing by the four counties. Today, the Treasure Coast Region includes these four counties and 52 municipalities.

Council does not exist because of state mandates or by virtue of a state appropriation. Council exists as a forum for local governments to work together, and due to the confidence, the Region’s local governments have in the professional skills and expertise of Council staff. The technical assistance Council provides to its member local governments expands their capacity to accomplish their goals and be more entrepreneurial. Council was created by and works for local government, not the state.

Council members who are county commissioners are selected annually by their respective commissions. Council members who are municipal officials are appointed in a slightly different manner in each of the member counties. In each case, the county must ratify the appointment. In Palm Beach County, municipal representatives are recommended to the Board of County Commissioners by the Palm Beach County League of Cities. Indian River County has established a set three-year rotational schedule for municipal representation. In Martin County, municipal representatives serve on a three-year rotating basis. In St. Lucie County, the two municipal representatives come from the Cities of Fort Pierce and Port St. Lucie. Each board member who is an elected official has an alternate voting member.